Skip to content

I know you’re stalking me because WordPress told me so

September 23, 2011

For a geek like me one of the exciting things about using WordPress for blogging is the ‘Site stats’ feature.  Looking at how many people read my blog by day and by page is of great fascination for me and I enjoy looking at the patterns by blog entry and by day / week / month and seeing whether people are coming in through Facebook, Twitter or otherwise.

One of the things I find most entertaining is the search terms section.  This is the bit that tells you where your random hits come from by letting you know what people typed into Google in order to end up on your site.

Now obviously I have had a squillion views in total (OK fine 1,165, most of which come through Twitter, Facebook and Linkedin) but of these 35 hits have come in through search engines.

I’ve used a research technique called ‘coding’ to group these into a manageable number of categories and I have then presented these categories in a lovely shiny chart for your consideration.  Please note this is presented as a ‘count’ rather than percentages.  As it is based on only 35 terms (jargon=’base size’ of 35) it would be misleading to convert these to percentages where 1 search term = 3%.

 

Chart

Turns out I’m getting quite a few hits from people looking for more information about Omnibus surveys and good practice research, along with sugging and frugging.  That’s interesting for me to know.

Are people searching for my various business interests?  No, not really.  There’s no real difference between the number of hits I get from random words in my blogs (cannabis, lesbians, intersex and Sir Humphrey Appleby) and the number of hits I get from my name or the organisations I work for.  I might have a stalker though, as I know someone has been searching for “Ruth Stevenson Facebook”…

Now I just need to decide what to do with this information!

One Comment leave one →
  1. milla permalink
    September 23, 2011 5:37 pm

    Lock your windows at night is my suggestion…….have a fab weekend.

Leave a Reply

